» Select Another Category of Reviews
 

Roomster Reviews

Roomster image

 
Editor's Overall Rating:
Average User Rating:
(based on 13 reviews)

Category: US Roommate Websites
Website: http://www.roomster.com



Editor's Review Costs & Features Videos User Reviews
 
Average User Rating:
(1.9 Stars) based on 13 reviews


Already tried it? Write a Review

Average User Star Ratings:

Chance of Finding a Roommate:
Quality of Adverts / Profiles:
Features:
Ease of Use / Navigation:
Ease of Joining / Registration:
Customer Support:
Value for Money:
Overall Star Rating:

Users' Overall Ratings Distribution:

5 Stars
3 Reviews
4 Stars
0 Reviews
3 Stars
0 Reviews
2 Stars
0 Reviews
1 Star
10 Reviews

Only 23% of Users Recommend it



10 REVIEWS AVAILABLE
PAGE 1: Displaying Reviews 1 - 10 of 10
Don't do it - ads are fake to encourage membership
21 May 2020
Reviewer: Rebecca from Seattle WA

9 of 22 people found this review helpful

It is obvious that the Seattle Craigslist Roommate ads hat refer inquiries to Roomster or Roomies is bogus.
Fake ads to build interest and memberships.

I am seeking a compatible Roommate but not in a big rush so I have been doing research and viewing ads on Craigslist. So many of the ads have been on Craig's for over 8 months - several of the continuing ads have the same typo's.

I sent my phone number as requested by the ad & immediately began to receive emails for phone sex, Asian beauties etc.

This business model is a great concept although dishonest from the beginning so I could not expect an improvement by submitting my credit or bank card information.

A valid background check requires a social security number therefore; Buyer beware.

In summary, I would not recommend Roomster to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Roomster the top recommended room rental listing website?
13 January 2020
Reviewer: Scotty from WA, USA

24 of 41 people found this review helpful

Man, if Roomster is top rated, then *this* website must be a scam too! Roomster is notorious for having fake listings, for posting fake ads on craigslist with text numbers that refer back to Roomster, for automatically billing for unwanted service, for making it difficult to unsubscribe/cancel membership, and for having essentially zero customer service (try finding a phone number that works). Does Roomster run *this* site, or is it just providing kickbacks?

In summary, I would not recommend Roomster to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Absolute worse site on the internet!!
18 March 2019
Reviewer: Doug from Orlando, FL

35 of 60 people found this review helpful

This site is total BS. I can't believe it got rated as #1...Are you kidding me?? They must have paid someone for their rating because I cannot find anyone who thought this site was a legitimate service. It is a total scam. My girlfriend tried to get us a place using it and the whole deal was a sham. I think they pay people to give them great ratings!!

In summary, I would not recommend Roomster to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Trickery
21 September 2018
Reviewer: Elle B from Seattle

35 of 61 people found this review helpful

Got the one week trial and midway through they “upgraded “ me for $24.95. Total BS. The app doesn’t filter well and I keep hearing from people who are not in my area. I hate the theft of my hard earned money (and customer service is totally ignoring me now) for a shotty, just cra.p app

In summary, I would not recommend Roomster to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


They exist to harvest your data
10 August 2018
Reviewer: Todd Philips from Reno, NV

37 of 69 people found this review helpful

Yeah, this site is a massive rip-off. YOu fill out your profile and can't contact anybody unless you pay, and even if you pay, you still can't access all the site features without giving them your facebook and or linkedin profiles access. And if you have neither, you can't access all the features of the site, even though you've paid. Massive rip-off, they exist just to steal your personal data and turn around and sell it !
The one roomie I got was a deadbeat that didn't pay his rent, we had to put his s*it out on the curb.
Most of the profiles aren't even filled out so that you can make any kind of decision. Huge, huge rip-off.

In summary, I would not recommend Roomster to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


I feel duped :(
13 September 2017
Reviewer: J from New Jersey

44 of 84 people found this review helpful

I've been looking to rent a room and kept being referred to roomster from people's listings on craigslist. Once I click on the link it takes me to the site, but the listing is not there. You can imagine how frustrating it is to think you found a potential great room only to be led to a site you have to pay for. Of course, I've also checked out listings on roomster alone and have reached out to people... I even paid to read my "so called" messages only to find that they're non existent or nothing of any value. Seems to me a lot of the posts I've found are set up to have you believe it's real, even down to having you describe yourself, occupation and phone number, only to be texted a link to join the site...sounds pretty scam-ish to me. Bottom line, it is extremely annoying to be given the run around especially during this time of need, but once my little 5 day trial is up, believe me I will discontinue my subscription and never use this site again. It is an utter waste of my time.

In summary, I would not recommend Roomster to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


This is a scam
19 August 2015
Reviewer: Sucker from Austin

102 of 196 people found this review helpful

This site seems to be purely for hooking people from Craigslist with fake ads and fake responses. Then, after you create a profile you'll get a fake email to get you to subscribe. Then, the subscription will rebill at an inflated rate to PayPal even if you cancel on the site. You must also cancel on PayPal. Also, you'll be solicited for non roommate services by users like "Pantease".

BEWARE

In summary, I would not recommend Roomster to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Slow site + poor service for the money
01 July 2015
Reviewer: Inskon456 from Atlanta, GA

114 of 221 people found this review helpful

I just finished my apartment search and used several web services. I am sorry to say that, but Roomster is by far the worst. The page constantly freezes, very few options for such heavily populated area as northern Atlanta, and, all that considered, Roomster still charges premium fee for such a mediocre service. If you are in my position start with RoomieMatch.com, you can fill out a free profile and in my case I got two good options. Use Roommates.com as a backup, after a couple of weeks of posting my profile, I got a 50% off offer: many more options than Roomster + lots of inquiries from potential landlords.

In summary, I would not recommend Roomster to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


A one time user who pulled out after seeing how bad it is.
26 May 2015
Reviewer: Al's Mistake! from Florida

122 of 226 people found this review helpful

Roomster.com was absolutely the worst experience I've ever had on the Internet. Had to give it 1 star because there was no zero stars available. These people are unprofessional and how you were able to give them a number 1 rating is incomprehensible. There is no such thing as customer service with this organization consisting of only 2 people. It is impossible to speak to a live person and even though they have a phone number is only to tell callers that the only help is available through their website. When trying to use their website to get help it seems like whoever's on the other side is mentally challenged or reading from a script because it does not address any question you may have. Instead they have the nerve to tell you to look at the help section and it's not to be found anywhere. A complete waste of time and the most aggravating experience I have ever had. Stay away from these people because they are charlatans.

In summary, I would not recommend Roomster to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


If Paying for Full Membership, then BEWARE!!!
12 May 2014
Reviewer: Concerned Custoimer from Virginia

134 of 245 people found this review helpful

First, I want to say that this site has a ton of great features and helped me find a roommate. Unfortunately, the site has multiple shady practices. First, you have to buy a full membership just to see the messages, but you get notifications of messages regardless. Second, the membership rises from $15 to $30 after the first month. Third, this membership automatically renews for 3 months, which is nice in case you forget to cancel your membership. However, there is an account feature to change the account "Status" and deactivate your account. This removes all access to your account or roomster AT ALL, but you WILL BE BILLED FOR THE LAST MONTHS. You must go into subscriptions and "Cancel Membership" BEFORE deactivating or you will be billed $30 each month afterwards. When preparing to move, it is easy to make this mistake.

To make matters worse, their customer service is also awful when dealing with this problem. The don't apologize or even say that you will get a refund straight out. They just cite the subscription policy as part of the Terms of Use, which does NOT mention... (Read the full review)

In summary, I would not recommend Roomster to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Already tried it? Write a Review

 





» Click here to visit Roomster.com

or

« Back to the rest of our US Roommate Websites Reviews







Advertisements