» Select Another Category of Reviews
 

Roomie Match Reviews

Roomie Match image

 
Editor's Overall Rating:
Average User Rating:
(based on 57 reviews)

Category: US Roommate Websites
Website: http://www.roomiematch.com



Editor's Review Costs & Features User Reviews
 
Average User Rating:
(1.2 Stars) based on 57 reviews


Already tried it? Write a Review

Average User Star Ratings:

Chance of Finding a Roommate:
Quality of Adverts / Profiles:
Features:
Ease of Use / Navigation:
Ease of Joining / Registration:
Customer Support:
Value for Money:
Overall Star Rating:

Users' Overall Ratings Distribution:

5 Stars
2 Reviews
4 Stars
1 Review
3 Stars
1 Review
2 Stars
1 Review
1 Star
52 Reviews

Only 7% of Users Recommend it



57 REVIEWS AVAILABLE
PAGE 1: Displaying Reviews 1 - 10 of 57
You'll be sorry!
01 July 2018
Reviewer: Singergirl from Chicago, IL

9 of 13 people found this review helpful

Don't sign up for this crappy roommate service. You'll get dozens of emails per day of potential matches that are barely a match, and none of them reply to emails or phone calls. And that's for a PAID account! And it's almost impossible to get them to stop sending you dozens and dozens of email "matches" per day.

In summary, I would not recommend Roomie Match to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


It's basically signing yourself up for spam
12 June 2018
Reviewer: Roommate Needed from San Diego, CA

4 of 9 people found this review helpful

You submit your info and have bots send you 5 potential roommates per day (all as separate emails) that you can't contact unless you pay. Waste of time and a garbage service

In summary, I would not recommend Roomie Match to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Stay away from roomiematch!
26 January 2018
Reviewer: H.e. from Los Angeles, CA

14 of 20 people found this review helpful

Setting yourself up on this site is easy enough. You just specify what you're looking for. But once you do that, you're FLOODED with emails. I think my highest count was about 54 in one day but I've seen others who got much more. And if you decide to cancel by selecting that "Unsubscribe" link in the bottom of the email? Forget it--it's not there. Trying to contact them thru the web site is pointless. Even forwarding one of their emails to Spam@uce.gov didn't help. There is absolutely no visible way to disable these emails. You'll be inundated with them daily. And if you think the emails will at least be what you specified when you set up a profile? No. Your preferences are simply ignored. This is without a doubt the worst web site--of any kind--that I've ever signed up on. But after a lot of searching, I did find a phone number. Leaving your email address on this voicemail is the ONLY way to stop this service. The phone number is 206-706-5926.

In summary, I would not recommend Roomie Match to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Scam known by my cc company!
30 December 2017
Reviewer: Fooled Then Foiled! from Providence, RI, USA

13 of 21 people found this review helpful

After paying my $19.95 and receiving the email addresses of those who interested me, I sent them each a lengthy description of the apartment and area of my home plus information about myself. I waited days and heard back from no one. I thought this was odd, so I did my research (obviously, in reverse order) and began reading the word SCAM a lot. I contacted my credit card company (Chase Bank) and their FRAUD department already knows about this outfit!!! They've pretty much guaranteed me a refund.

DO NOT USE!!!

HOWEVER, their questionnaire is excellent, so you might consider signing up, copying some or all of those questions for interview purposes, but NOT paying RoomieMate one dime.

In summary, I would not recommend Roomie Match to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Worked fine for me
15 December 2017
Reviewer: Over60busygal from San Antonio, TX

10 of 21 people found this review helpful

I like Roomie match because it sent me the emails that matched somewhat with what I filled out. I didn't have to post anything online. And I say "somewhat" because it's not an exact science and RM could only send me prospects for me to read and either ignore or email them back to connect me with that person. And then I didn't have to pay until then! I thought this was great. I found the situation I was looking for and it's working out fine. (I'm in my 60s, female, and I wanted to rent from or room with someone - female preferably- over 50.) And RM sends lots of information - food preferences, political leanings, neatness level - more than I saw on other sites - and I didn't have to deal with the scammers or people not actually serious about finding a roommate.

In summary, I would recommend Roomie Match to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Waste of time
30 October 2017
Reviewer: Mk from Atlanta, GA

11 of 19 people found this review helpful

The website asking lots of question which some of the question really does not do with renting. After going through, without reason, my profile was rejected. I was tried to find roommate genuinely. If my profile is rejected which is real one, I am wondering how many potential renters are lost in the website. The business practice really does not work as far as for landlord or person who is looking for roommate because there may be lots of potential renters are eliminated for no reason.

In summary, I would not recommend Roomie Match to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Total ripoff. Don't waste your time.
28 September 2017
Reviewer: Frank from Nashville, Tennessee.

9 of 16 people found this review helpful

This site is full of greedy price gougers who want more for their crappy little rooms . You can rent an apartment or house cheaper. This site totally blows. Btw no private bathrooms. Completely pathetic and lame. Don't get took by a crook.

In summary, I would not recommend Roomie Match to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Worked for me
22 July 2017
Reviewer: Carrie K from Milwaukee, WI, USA

16 of 29 people found this review helpful

So yes there are a lot of question to answer when making your profile. And I didn't like that I could not look through profiles and try to find a match they send them to you. But unlike craigslist I sucked it up and paid the $20 which is cheaper than many of the other sites. And the people I contacted were people and not scams which is what I got with 98% of the responses on craigslist. I found a roommate within a month we at least I think I did she is moving in next month. Right now I could not be happier The woman they matched me up with has many things in common and I believe we will get along well.

In summary, I would recommend Roomie Match to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Scam--simply to collect your private information
16 July 2017
Reviewer: Hippie.chic from Florence, AZ

18 of 29 people found this review helpful

As others have stated here, this is not a roommate matching company. It's a fraudulent scheme simply to collect your personal information, which is likely being sold to other people in the attempt to phish your computer and accounts. All companies promise not to sell or give out your personal info, but hardly any of them entice you to create an account where they ban you access from your profile. Without access to your profile, you cannot update changes, nor can you delete your account and personal info, leaving just your email behind for their records. When you are unable to access the personal information you submitted, nor delete it, it can be sold, even if the company folds and your personal info is sold right along with the company, and for what purposes, you wouldn't know.

If you did a basic search for roommate matching websites, and you found RoomieMatch at the top of the list, keep in mind that there are many marketing companies who solicit these companies and promise to list them first on some recently created "best of roommate services websites" if they are willing to pay a fee. Companies usually don't take... (Read the full review)

In summary, I would not recommend Roomie Match to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Absolute garbage + *scam alert!*
11 July 2017
Reviewer: Zak from Texas

16 of 27 people found this review helpful

Save yourself the trouble. DO NOT USE ROOMIEMATCH.

Really, don't waste your time. There is nothing good about this.

Answering all the questions to make a profile takes a long time and is a fruitless effort.

Then on day one you will find 50-70 emails from "other subscribers" and their responses to the long profile questionnaire... in plain text. Honestly, who has time to read through that many EIGHT PAGE emails to find a roommate?? EVERYDAY!

That's the thing - these emails don't stop coming! You'll have another 50 emails the next day. And the next. And as far as I can tell, these "subscribers" are just bots, not real people. However, I wouldn't know because in order to respond to any of them, you have to pay RoomieMatch $20, which I thankfully had the wherewithal to decide against.

So, then you try to unsubscribe. Either because you decided you couldn't handle all the obnoxious emails or because you found a roommate through an avenue that actually works (e.g. Craigslist).

Welp, surprise, surprise! You cannot unsubscribe. So you try to contact them, but there is ZERO customer support. So now you're stuck receiving hundreds of emails a week from a bonk "service". Forever.

Again,... (Read the full review)

In summary, I would not recommend Roomie Match to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


1 2 3 4 5
Already tried it? Write a Review

 





» Click here to visit RoomieMatch.com

or

« Back to the rest of our US Roommate Websites Reviews







Advertisements