» Select Another Category of Reviews
 

Roomie Match Reviews

Roomie Match image

 
Editor's Overall Rating:
Average User Rating:
(based on 57 reviews)

Category: US Roommate Websites
Website: http://www.roomiematch.com



Editor's Review Costs & Features User Reviews
 
Average User Rating:
(1.2 Stars) based on 57 reviews


Already tried it? Write a Review

Average User Star Ratings:

Chance of Finding a Roommate:
Quality of Adverts / Profiles:
Features:
Ease of Use / Navigation:
Ease of Joining / Registration:
Customer Support:
Value for Money:
Overall Star Rating:

Users' Overall Ratings Distribution:

5 Stars
2 Reviews
4 Stars
1 Review
3 Stars
1 Review
2 Stars
1 Review
1 Star
52 Reviews

Only 7% of Users Recommend it



57 REVIEWS AVAILABLE
PAGE 3: Displaying Reviews 21 - 30 of 57
|
Users Cant' SEE information about potential roommates
15 November 2016
Reviewer: Disappointed from Tennessee

44 of 83 people found this review helpful

This seemed like an easy enough process, and initially seemed more thorough in their questions than others, but they cover ground on some issues, (like how often you do dishes) ignoring how often, or whether people contribute to the yard work.

And the worst part is that they do the matching, and give you percentages, but you see NOTHING about the people they match you with, other than the percentage they were a match.

There's the age issue. Someone who's 52 might not want to live with those who're 20, but also might not want to be limited to those over 50. Unfortunately, there is no choice. You either accept the age group the service picks, or you accept all ages.

In summary, I would not recommend Roomie Match to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Spam
21 October 2016
Reviewer: Barak from USA

58 of 100 people found this review helpful

They send me hundreds of emails that were completely useless for me and when I sent an email asking to be removed from their email list I continued to get bombarded with spam! I had to block them manually in order to stop getting spammed with 5-10 emails every day or two.

In summary, I would not recommend Roomie Match to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Complete waste of time.
15 August 2016
Reviewer: Lala 25 from Los Angeles

66 of 125 people found this review helpful

Do NOT give these people your $20.00, I honestly think they just sit around collecting money without the intention of actually matching anyone.
BUYER BEWARE!

In summary, I would not recommend Roomie Match to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Horrible
13 July 2016
Reviewer: L from San Diego, Ca

66 of 128 people found this review helpful

I can't believe I paid $20 for this site. They claim that they have real person looking through the matches to find you the right ones but I've now emailed the company over 5 times in the past two weeks asking to cancel my account and still haven't reached anyone and without a phone number I'm out of options and $20.
This site gives you less information than you would get on craigslist, makes it harder to reach people, and will BOMBARD your inbox with a bunch of "matches" that don't fit your needs or requests. I cannot stress enough DO NOT sign up for this site!

In summary, I would not recommend Roomie Match to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


I wish I did my research before signing up
06 July 2016
Reviewer: Chi3 from Stamford, CT USA

69 of 132 people found this review helpful

I've emailed the customer service THREE times to cancel my subscription and reimburse me. No response. It's a wild goose hunt for finding roommates, especially if you are in a suburban town. The service did not even bother filtering the email to see if both of us wants to live in the same town. The constant emails (from people who don't even want to live in your town) are aggregating. Next time I will definitely do my research before signing up or paying.

In summary, I would not recommend Roomie Match to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


If you paid, open an investigation with your credit card
18 May 2016
Reviewer: Annoyed from Cleveland, Ohio

69 of 145 people found this review helpful

Everything on here is true including them changing your roommate preferences without your permission.

I used this site, paid for the membership unfortunately. I should have known this was a scam because the emails where written in a very strange format. They contacted me telling me to expect 68 matches in my email that same day, but the emails never came. I followed up with customer service for the next two days and never heard back. Another red flag should have been the fact that they don't have a phone number and all communication is through that one email address. I called my credit card company to dispute the charge and cancel the service (again which can only be done through the email they weren't responding to) to find that the $20 "one time fee" is actually a recurring charge. I have disputed the charge and opened an investigation.

In summary, I would not recommend Roomie Match to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


What a scam... do not use them!!
16 March 2016
Reviewer: Stephanie Ericsson from St. Paul, MN

76 of 149 people found this review helpful

I liked their profiling questions and so I joined, without checking them out. I was flooded with hundreds of MIS-matches. Maybe 5% of the people they sent me were close to a match. When I wrote for customer support, I got NO response. I sent 3 more requests. Finally, I blacklisted them in my email. Waste of $20. Really makes me mad when I get ripped off. Even madder at myself for not checking them out FIRST.

In summary, I would not recommend Roomie Match to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Huge waste of time
12 March 2016
Reviewer: Cg from North Florida, USA

76 of 149 people found this review helpful

I'll start with the perceived Pros of the site: The service guarantees that each profile will be reviewed by a person, therefore allowing them to weed out scammers and match you with legitimate roommates. The profile questions are very in-depth, which would hopefully mean that you'd find a very compatible roommate. Matches are sent straight to your e-mail, so you don't have to search through a bunch of incompatible roommates. (This is a pro and a con: To contact potential roommates, you have to pay for the service, but $20 for a year seems like a good deal.)

The cons, and my experience: This site is only good in theory. I created a profile about a month ago, but when it was accepted some answers had been changed (rent range, age range, etc). Received all the "matches" and wasted a lot of time reading through matches that didn't meet my criteria because of the changes to my profile. (Also, there is no option to search through profiles; you can only look at the ones sent to your e-mail.) Went through the FAQ, and as suggested I created a new profile that was supposed to replace the original one. There is no... (Read the full review)

In summary, I would not recommend Roomie Match to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Don't waste your time
05 January 2016
Reviewer: Toobusy from Dallas TX

95 of 185 people found this review helpful

Caveat Emptor -
Upon enrolling you are inundated with 5-10 pages of "spam" matches by percentage. Upon visit the site to log in and consider potential matches, there is no area to log in, and you are prompted to set up another account. I reached out to customer support and received canned emails to review FAQ, which I'd done prior to contacting. I was never able to get an answer or directions on logging in but remarkably some dimwitted chap on the other end was enthusiastic to debate with me the wisdom and validity of FAQ rather than just providing the information. After 4 or 5 emails exchanged where I repeatedly asked for log in information I was told I was unpleasant and my account had been deleted.
?

In summary, I would not recommend Roomie Match to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Not clear how to unsubscribe
30 December 2015
Reviewer: Yasmine Korram from Boston

125 of 225 people found this review helpful

While there exists a multiple page FAQ, none of them addresses how one can unsubscribe if they no longer wish to receive the service. I had to contact the customer service to get instruction on how to unsubscribe! For the meanwhile I am flagging the messages as SPAM since no legit vendor would force their service if it is not appreciated/wanted.

About the service, you are answering all different questions about personality and what not. But for a metro city like Boston there wasn't any question regarding the location. It doesn't matter how closely the personality criteria of a roommate matches those of yours if it's not the neighborhood you wish to leave in.

In summary, I would not recommend Roomie Match to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


1 2 3 4 5 6
Already tried it? Write a Review

 





» Click here to visit RoomieMatch.com

or

« Back to the rest of our US Roommate Websites Reviews







Advertisements